WEST OXFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Licensing Committee Held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Woodgreen, Witney, Oxfordshire OX28 INB at 2.35 pm on Wednesday, 22 May 2024

<u>PRESENT</u>

Councillors: Mark Walker (Chair), David Jackson (Vice-Chair), Julian Cooper, Jane Doughty, Edward James, Sandra Simpson and Tim Sumner

Officers: Andrew Brown, Business Manager Democratic Services, Christine Elsasser, Interim Democratic Services Officer

I Election of Chair

The Chair of the Council, Councillor Elizabeth Poskitt, opened the meeting.

The Licencing Committee would be comprised of the following Members:

Councillor David Jackson;

Councillor David Melvin;

Councillor Paul Marsh;

Councillor Tim Sumner;

Councillor Dan Levy;

Councillor Jane Doughty;

Councillor Edward James;

Councillor Martin McBride;

Councillor Mark Walker;

Councillor Andrew Lyon;

Councillor Sandra Simpson.

The Chair of the Council requested nominations for position of the Chair of the Licensing Committee. Councillor Mark Walker was proposed as the Chair of the Licensing Committee and the vote was carried.

Council **Resolved** to:

1. Appoint Councillor Mark Walker to the position of the Chair of Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2024/2025.

2 Election of Vice Chair

The Chair of Licensing, Councillor Mark Walker, requested nominations for the position of the Vice Chair of the Licensing Committee. Councillor David Jackson was proposed as the Vice Chair of the Licensing Committee and the vote was carried.

Council **Resolved** to:

1. Appoint Councillor David Jackson to the position of the Vice Chair of the Licensing Committee for the municipal year 2024/2025.

Licensing Committee

22/May2024

3 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Andrew Lyon and David Melvin.

4 Appointment of Licensing Sub Committees

The Chair of the Committee, Councillor Mark Walker, proposed that Council agree the appointments to the Miscellaneous Licencing Sub – Committee and it was unanimously agreed by Council.

Council **Resolved** to:

- I. Appoint the following Councillors to the Miscellaneous Licensing Sub Committee:
 - David Jackson;
 - David Melvin;
 - Edward James;
 - Andrew Lyon;
 - Sandra Simpson.
- 2. Note that the Licensing Panel membership would comprise of the Chair or Vice Chair of the Licensing Committee and two other Members of the Licensing Committee drawn on an alphabetical rota basis from the remaining Members of the Licensing Committee (subject to their availability and completion of licensing training prior to participation in a Licensing Panel meeting).

The Meeting closed at 2.37 pm

CHAIRMAN